Introduction
Private equity accounts for about a third or less of the assets managed at four of the five listed US firms usually called mega funds. At June 30, 2026, Apollo's equity strategies held $198 billion of its $1.05 trillion of assets under management (AUM), with credit making up the rest; KKR's private equity business line held about a third of its $796 billion; and Carlyle's Global Credit segment had grown larger than its Global Private Equity segment. Only at TPG do the private equity platforms still hold about half. That business mix, more than size, decides what each firm buys from a bank and what it sells in competition with one. A firm whose capital sits largely in an insurer's balance sheet lends to companies a bank would otherwise finance; a firm still built around buyout funds buys underwritten debt, initial public offerings (IPOs) and sale processes in the familiar way, only at larger scale. Blackstone, KKR, Apollo, Carlyle and TPG, with the privately held Bain Capital beside them, separate along four lines a coverage banker uses: the mix of strategies, the insurance and wealth capital behind them, their own capital markets desks, and what they disclose.
Business Mix: Where Each Firm's Capital Sits
Every listed manager reports AUM by segment each quarter, and that segment table is the quickest way to see which client a coverage team is actually dealing with. The figures below come from each firm's second-quarter 2026 results; Bain Capital, which publishes no accounts, is shown for comparison.
| Firm | Reported AUM, June 30, 2026 | Largest business by AUM | Link to insurance capital | Capital markets arm |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Blackstone | $1.35 trillion | Credit & Insurance, $469 billion | Manages assets for insurance clients | Blackstone Capital Markets (BXCM) |
| KKR | $796 billion | Credit and Liquid Strategies, $331 billion | Owns Global Atlantic | KKR Capital Markets |
| Apollo | $1.05 trillion | Credit, $849 billion | Owns Athene | Apollo Capital Solutions (ACS) |
| Carlyle | $485 billion | Global Credit, $211 billion | Advises on Fortitude Re's general account | TCG Capital Markets |
| TPG | $327 billion | Credit, $101 billion | No insurance segment | In-house capital markets group |
| Bain Capital | About $215 billion (no public filings) | Not reported by segment | Not disclosed | Not disclosed |
Read down the third column and one pattern stands out: credit is the largest single segment or platform at all five listed firms. At Blackstone, Credit & Insurance ($469.3 billion) edged past Private Equity ($454.2 billion) at the end of June, according to Blackstone's second-quarter 2026 earnings release, and even the private equity label needs reading. Blackstone's Private Equity segment also contains its infrastructure funds, its secondaries and GP stakes business, and BXCM itself, so its corporate buyout funds are a smaller share than the segment total suggests. At TPG, Credit ($101.2 billion) is only slightly larger than the flagship buyout platform, TPG Capital ($94.1 billion).
The mix matters to a bank because it shows where each firm's earnings come from, and therefore what it wants to grow. Listed managers are valued heavily on the steady fee income from their funds and services rather than on carried interest, which arrives unevenly, a distinction the FIG guide explains in its overview of alternative asset managers. That incentive pushes every listed firm toward long-dated capital, credit funds that charge fees on invested capital, and fee-earning services such as capital markets, which is why the five look less alike each year than their shared label implies.
- Fee-Related Earnings (FRE)
A non-GAAP profit measure reported by listed alternative asset managers: management fees plus other recurring fees, such as transaction, monitoring and capital markets fees, minus the compensation and operating costs of earning them. FRE excludes realized carried interest and investment gains, so investors treat it as the stable part of a manager's earnings.
For the coverage banker, the practical reading is that a mega fund is a set of businesses with separate incentives. The buyout team still wants the most financing on the best terms for its next acquisition, while the same firm's credit arm wants to lend to that kind of company and its capital markets desk wants the arranger fee. The sponsor universe map shows how one logo can carry several clients; at the mega funds, some of those clients compete with the bank.
Insurance Capital: Lender, Competitor and Client
A sharp dividing line among the largest sponsors is whether a firm controls an insurance balance sheet. Annuity and life insurers collect premiums years before they pay claims and invest most of that money in fixed income. Because those obligations run for decades, a point developed in the FIG guide on long-duration life liabilities, insurers can hold private loans to maturity and collect the extra yield that illiquidity pays, so an asset manager that owns or manages an insurer gains a large, steady buyer for the loans and structured credit its own teams create. Apollo and KKR built their models on owned insurers; Blackstone, Carlyle and TPG reached the same capital mostly through management agreements and acquisitions of credit managers.
Apollo: An Origination Platform With Private Equity Attached
Apollo's credit strategies managed $849 billion at June 30, 2026, against $198 billion in equity, and Athene's net invested assets stood at about $314 billion, according to Apollo's second-quarter 2026 results. The firm describes its credit business as built on origination: finding and structuring loans itself rather than buying them in the syndicated market. Its 2025 annual report put $302.1 billion of AUM in direct origination alone, spanning large corporate loans, middle-market direct lending and investment grade mandates, and Apollo also owns or backs specialist origination platforms that source loans for the funds and accounts it manages.
Apollo has even bought a piece of a bank's business. In February 2023 its affiliates purchased a significant portion of Credit Suisse's securitized products group, which became ATLAS SP Partners, an asset-backed financing firm of more than 200 people with Apollo as majority shareholder. Apollo Capital Solutions (ACS), the firm's capital markets business, earns fees for underwriting, structuring, arranging and placing debt and equity and for syndication, for Apollo's funds, their portfolio companies and third parties. Capital solutions fees and other income rose to $808 million in 2025 from $668 million a year earlier.
- Asset-Based Finance (ABF)
Lending secured by pools of financial or physical assets, such as consumer and mortgage loans, equipment leases, trade receivables or aircraft, rather than by a company's overall cash flows. Managers with insurance capital favor it because much of it can be structured to investment grade ratings while paying a spread for its complexity and illiquidity.
For a bank, that adds up to a client unlike a classic buyout fund. Apollo's private equity funds still buy companies and still need underwritten financing and exits, but Apollo is also one of the large lenders that bid against banks for sponsor debt, profiled in the DCM guide's roster of major direct lenders, and a buyer of the loans and asset-backed risk that banks originate. The lending model itself is set out in the private credit and direct lending explainer. The same firm can sit across the table in three roles in one quarter.
KKR: An Insurer, a Holding Company and a Fund Manager
KKR reports three segments: Asset Management, Insurance and Strategic Holdings. The insurance segment is Global Atlantic, whose AUM of about $220 billion at June 30, 2026 included $164 billion managed in KKR credit strategies, per KKR's second-quarter 2026 earnings release. Strategic Holdings, reported since the first quarter of 2024, holds interests in operating companies owned by the firm itself, today mainly KKR's participation in its core private equity strategy, which buys businesses to own for longer than a conventional fund life allows.
That structure changes the rhythm of the relationship. A company held in core private equity can generate refinancings, add-on financings and dividend capacity for many years before it produces a sale mandate, so the coverage plan for it looks more like corporate coverage than like a buyout exit calendar. Global Atlantic, meanwhile, gives KKR's credit business a large in-house buyer, and the firm counts Global Atlantic-related capital markets fees as part of the insurer's economics.
Blackstone, Carlyle and TPG: Credit Without Owning an Insurer
Blackstone reaches insurance money as a manager. Its 2025 annual report describes an insurance platform that runs insurers' assets through separately managed accounts, which can generally be terminated only for long-term underperformance, cause or other limited reasons, and the Credit & Insurance segment is now its largest. Carlyle manages insurance assets inside Global Credit, including the general account of Fortitude Re, a reinsurer in which a Carlyle vehicle and third-party investors have invested. TPG bought its credit scale: it completed the acquisition of Angelo Gordon on November 1, 2023, adding a credit and real estate platform of about $74 billion, and TPG Angelo Gordon is the base of what is now TPG's largest platform. The two routes carry different weight. An owned insurer is consolidated into the parent's accounts, as Athene and Global Atlantic are in Apollo's and KKR's insurance segments, and brings regulatory capital rules with it; a management relationship earns fees without that capital commitment but gives the manager less control over how the money is allocated.
What this capital buys is not only buyout debt. Apollo and Blackstone have both sold large companies a form of capital used in place of a bond or a share issue, and in each case a bank's corporate client took it instead of a public financing.
The announcements show what each company wanted and where the banks fit. Intel's announcement of the Fab 34 joint venture names Goldman Sachs as its lead financial adviser, so a bank earned the advisory role while Apollo supplied the capital. Rogers' announcement says the proceeds would repay debt and were expected to cut its debt leverage ratio by 0.7x, and that Moody's, S&P and DBRS were expected to treat the investment as equity. For a bank's debt capital markets and corporate coverage teams, that is a financing they did not underwrite; for the sponsors group, it is a reminder that the mega fund client is also pitching the bank's investment grade clients.
Capital Markets Desks: Same Idea, Different Scale
Each of the five listed firms owns a registered broker-dealer that can arrange, place and, in some cases, underwrite financings. The model and its effect on bank fees are covered in depth in sponsor in-house capital markets desks; what differs between the firms is scale and who the desk serves:
- KKR Capital Markets earned $930 million of transaction fees in 2025, down from $1.0 billion in 2024, across 404 transactions, 355 of them debt offerings and 49 equity offerings; in the second quarter of 2026 its fees came from traditional private equity, infrastructure and third-party deals.
- Apollo Capital Solutions produced a quarterly record of $277 million of capital solutions fees in the second quarter of 2026 across more than 100 transactions, two-thirds of them from credit, and works for Apollo's funds, their portfolio companies and third parties.
- TPG's capital markets group structures acquisition financings, refinancings and repricings and acts as adviser and underwriter on portfolio company equity offerings; it generated $309.7 million of transaction revenue in 2025, up from $203.3 million in 2024.
- Blackstone Capital Markets sits inside Blackstone's Private Equity segment, and its broker-dealer acts as underwriter, syndicator or placement agent on securities and, through affiliates, loan syndications.
- Carlyle's TCG Capital Markets has taken underwriting roles in its portfolio companies' offerings, alongside the banks that lead them.
The numbers are not on a common basis, since each firm defines its fee lines differently, but the direction is shared: every listed firm has built a desk that turns its own deal flow into fee income. KKR's 2025 annual report adds a detail that matters to a bank, a third-party client list that names financial sponsors among the companies and funds it serves, which means KKR's desk can compete with banks for arranger roles on other sponsors' deals.
A desk of its own does not make a mega fund a smaller payer. International Financing Review (IFR) named Blackstone its financial sponsor issuer for 2025: in IFR's award citation, Blackstone was the most active sponsor in capital markets in the first nine months of the year, generating more than $540 million of fees, and its capital markets team of about 15 people raised roughly $150 billion of debt over the awards period. A desk that small is a buyer of bank services that decides which banks get each role; the same awards cycle made Blackstone IFR's North America private credit house, the competitor half of the relationship. How that spend compares with any single corporate client is set out in the sponsor fee pool.
Where Private Equity Still Leads: TPG, Carlyle and the Private Partnerships
Not every mega fund has turned into a credit house. TPG, Carlyle's corporate private equity business and the private partnerships still look closest to the buyout model the term grew out of, and they use banks in more traditional ways: for acquisition financing, IPOs and sell-downs, and sale processes.
TPG: Buyouts, Growth and Impact
TPG's private equity platforms are TPG Capital, its buyout business ($94.1 billion at June 30, 2026), TPG Growth ($34.6 billion) and TPG Impact ($34.9 billion), which includes the Rise climate funds. The growth and impact platforms take minority stakes and back companies at earlier stages more often than a buyout fund does, so a larger share of TPG's bank needs run through equity capital markets, IPO readiness and structured equity than at a credit-heavy peer, a pattern traced in growth equity investors as sponsor clients. TPG was also the last of the five to list, pricing its IPO on Nasdaq in January 2022, so its public disclosure has the shortest history.
Carlyle: A Portfolio Company IPO With Its Own Broker-Dealer in the Syndicate
Carlyle's three segments are Global Private Equity ($163 billion), Global Credit ($211 billion) and Carlyle AlpInvest ($112 billion), its fund investment, secondaries and co-investment business. Its corporate private equity still produces classic exit work, and StandardAero, the aircraft engine services company, shows the sequence. The StandardAero IPO prospectus of October 2024 sold 60 million shares at $24, with J.P. Morgan and Morgan Stanley leading a syndicate that also included TCG Capital Markets, a Carlyle affiliate; Carlyle kept about 65% of the company after the offering.
Because a Carlyle affiliate was an underwriter, the offering followed the conflict rules of the Financial Industry Regulatory Authority (FINRA), the same Rule 5121 disclosure explained in how sponsors choose their banks. In March 2025 Carlyle and GIC sold a further 36 million shares at $28 in a secondary offering, the kind of sell-down described in the ECM guide's article on sponsor sell-downs. For the banks, one asset produced an IPO mandate and a follow-on within six months, with the sponsor's own broker-dealer sharing the IPO syndicate.
Bain Capital, Advent and Warburg Pincus: Mega Funds Without Public Accounts
Bain Capital belongs in the tier by size and deal flow but not by disclosure. It has remained a privately held partnership while expanding into credit, real estate, life sciences and venture investing, with about $215 billion of private capital, and in January 2026 David Gross became its sole managing partner, with John Connaughton moving to chair. Gross built Bain Capital's Asian platform, and Japan, where Bain Capital and KKR compete with domestic sponsors for take-privates, is mapped in Asia sponsors. Advent International, a global buyout firm, and Warburg Pincus, which describes itself as a global growth investor, are also private partnerships. In Europe, EQT is listed in Stockholm and publishes results as a listed company, as European sponsors explains.
Private ownership also changes the incentive described earlier. A partnership owned by its partners has no outside shareholders rewarding fee-related earnings, so it has less reason to turn every financing into an in-house fee line, although Bain Capital, like its listed peers, has expanded well beyond buyouts into credit.
What a Listing Changes for the Coverage Team
The listed firms became ordinary corporations over a short period. KKR, Apollo, Blackstone and Carlyle converted from publicly traded partnerships to C-corporations between 2018 and 2020, a shift covered in the FIG guide on public and private manager structures, and TPG listed as a corporation in 2022. Each now reports quarterly, and the reports give a coverage team three things private sponsors keep to their investors:
- Capital by strategy: segment AUM, fundraising and capital invested, which show which business is raising money and which is deploying it.
- Realization activity: what the firm has sold or distributed in the quarter and how management describes the pipeline on its earnings call.
- Perpetual capital: the share of AUM with no fixed end date, about $556 billion at Blackstone (41% of AUM) and $334 billion at KKR (42%) at June 30, 2026.
Perpetual capital deserves particular attention, because it changes how a mega fund buys and sells. Much of it sits in insurance accounts and in evergreen vehicles sold to individual investors, such as Blackstone's BXPE and KKR's K-Series private equity funds, which the Private Capital Advisory guide covers in the private wealth channel. An evergreen vehicle has no fund-end deadline forcing a sale, but it does have to meet investor redemptions within set limits, so it tends to value steady cash yield and predictable financing over a quick exit.
Seen through those reports, the gap between the firms is not closing. Every listed mega fund is adding credit, insurance relationships and evergreen capital, but each from a different base: Apollo from an insurer, KKR from an insurer and a holding company, Blackstone from buyouts, real estate and private wealth, Carlyle and TPG from buyout franchises that bought or built credit platforms later. The question that matters to a sponsors group is therefore not which firm is largest but which of its businesses will be on the other side of the next financing: the buyout team asking for a commitment, the credit arm bidding to hold the loan, or the capital markets desk negotiating who arranges it.


